Friday, November 24, 2023, 7:30pm

Riddell Theatre, University of Regina

Presented in partnership with the University of Regina Faculty of MAP

McKenzie Warriner is a Saskatchewan-born soprano bringing music and text to life in works ranging from Baroque oratorio to the cutting-edge. In the 22/23 season, McKenzie returned to her home province to sing Messiah with the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra and is honoured to be a Yulanda M. Faris Young Artist with Vancouver Opera. She is also excited to perform at the 2023 Aldeburgh Festival premiering new works as a Britten Pears Young Artist. Recent credits include Le portrait de Manon (Vancouver Opera), Abigail Richardson-Schulte’s Alligator Pie (Regina Symphony Orchestra), The Shop Girl (COSA Canada), and Der Schauspieldirektor (Eastman Opera Theatre). Passionate about contemporary music, McKenzie co-founded Slow Rise Music in 2021, a Toronto concert series devoted to creating bold new vocal works. McKenzie earned her Master of Music degree from the Eastman School of Music and her Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Manitoba.

Canadian collaborative pianist, Danielle Guina, received her Master of Music degree in Piano Accompanying and Chamber Music at the Eastman School of Music under the direction of Dr. Jean Barr. Active in vocal and instrumental areas, Danielle has performed in concert and in festivals internationally in Canada, Italy, and the United States. She is a co-founder of the trumpet and piano duo Power of Two, and also works closely with soprano, McKenzie Warriner, to create diverse and representative concert programs of works by Canadian, BIPOC, and LGBTQ+ composers. Danielle is a staff pianist at Brandon University, and is a teacher of piano, voice, theory, and history, at the Eckhardt-Gramatté Conservatory of Music. She has worked with composers Jake Heggie, David McIntyre, and Diego Vega, as well as participated in masterclasses with renowned artists Margo Garrett, Lydia Brown, Alan Louis Smith, Malcolm Martineau, Graham Johnson, Kevin Murphy, Alexandra Nguyen, Andrew Harley, Hila Plitmann, Nicole Cabell, Murray McLachlan, Andrei Pisarev, Douglas Finch, Futaba Niekawa, the Cecilia String Quartet and more.